The Cooper Cottage


When Mitch and I first moved to LA, we lived in a charming 1920s bungalow that was maybe 550 square feet. The two of us and our two dogs squeezed into that tiny space and for the most part we LOVED it.  We had a view of Downtown and lived walking distance to Echo Park lake. We also had a front porch and a little yard where the pups could run free and be their wild animal selves.

What we didn’t have, obviously, was a lot of indoor space, namely storage for clothes, linens, shoes, etc. There was ONE tiny closet and 4 built-in shelves, and that was it. We created an additional makeshift closet for Mitch’s clothes, but still it never seemed enough. The place was too small to bring in an armoire or shelving unit, so we had to make do.  Naturally, the lack of space was my biggest complaint about that home, and although I loved our sweet Cooper cottage so much, I often found myself daydreaming about the joy I’d have once we had more space for our stuff.

We lived there about 2 years until we found out we were pregnant.  We knew we’d run into some logistics issues trying to live there with an infant, so we decided to find something bigger. We moved into a place with 2 bedrooms and 250 more square feet, and I’m not exaggerating when I say we felt strange and almost overwhelmed by the increased size of our new home.  We even joked about far away we felt from each other when one of us was in the living room and the other in the bedroom.

The size of this place definitely works for our small family, and I don’t necessarily want a larger home, but before I started on this journey to minimalism – and especially with the addition of a baby, all the clothes, toys, and other baby things – I would catch myself thinking, “Ahh we don’t have enough closet or storage space! We need more room for stuff. Maybe a 3 bedroom would be better.”

But therein lies the problem.  We’d move into a 3 bedroom and we’d just fill it like we filled this one. It’s similar to when I have a large purse, I just fill it with more crap! (Can any other women relate?)  How many people move into a house with a garage and think, “Awesome, a junk room!” ? (I’d venture to say not many.)

The reality is we do NOT need more space.

We need less stuff.

– – – – – – – – – –

STAY TUNED for some interesting topics!

  • Saying goodbye to sentimental items
  • Step by step guide to cleaning out your closet
  • How to be a minimalist who likes fashion
  • Kids & Minimalism: Can the two co-exist? (TOYYYYYSSSSS!)
  • Consumerism & Social Justice / Social Responsiblity
  • The American Dream
  • Finding your own style of simplicity

If you’re interested in a particular topic, please let me know! I love hearing from you!! Thank you so much for reading. ❤️

Leave a Reply

