Want to Be Happy? Be Grateful.

Since I’m in town for Thanksgiving, I joined my parents at their church on Sunday morning.  The pastor’s sermon was about the importance of gratitude and the freedom we can experience if we embrace an attitude of thankfulness in our daily lives.  He used a Benjamin Franklin quote that struck a chord with me.

“Contentment makes poor men rich.  Discontentment makes rich men poor.”

It’s so easy for me to get caught up in thinking about all the things I feel that my life lacks.  I know in my heart that this mindset isn’t right.  Focusing on what we don’t have and indulging in self-pity only pollutes ours minds and souls with negativity.  And to think, some of us spend our entire lives chasing all those “missing things”, believing happiness is on the other side of obtainment.  We’ve been brainwashed to believe the more we have, the happier we’ll be.  That falsity only leads us down a rabbithole of discontentment, and I’d venture to say that ceaseless yearning and quest to fill the void is what causes many of the challenges we face in our lives: health problems, addictions, broken relationships, etc.  Sometimes takes a gentle reminder to get back to where we ought to be.

One of my favorite TED Talks is by David Steindl-Rast.  He explains that availing ourselves to the opportunity of being grateful in every moment is the key to happiness.  I strongly encourage you to take 14 minutes out of your busy day to watch it.

Click HERE and be inspired.  You won’t regret it.

gratitude-quote-melody-beattie

 

Leave a Reply

