All About Clothes!

First things first: Watch this video that Grist.org posted on their Facebook page this week.  It talks about clothing waste and how to be more responsible when it comes to purchasing (and getting rid of) clothes.

If you have clothes to donate, consider using freecycle.org or donate to a local charity.  I’ve been making donations to a local organization here in Portland called the Paying It Forward Store, which is a monthly pop-up shop where people who are down on their luck can come and pick up anything they want or need for free.  It’s such a great way to contribute to the community.  I’ll talk more about this on another blog soon. 🙂  Anyway, here’s the video.

 

I mentioned earlier this week that I’m going to be stepping up my game with a Capsule Wardrobe.  I’ve been donating clothes, but I still have a ways to go.  This isn’t something I’m taking lightly.  It’s both a big undertaking and significant change in lifestyle for me, the latter point being exciting and, if I’m honest, a little scary.  But I’ve been thinking about it for about 6 months now, and I’m ready to commit.

Now… this project is easily one of those things that could keep getting put off until the cows come home.  After all, life is BUSY!! I’m a work-from-home mom with a toddler, so my weekdays are jam-packed, juggling those responsibilities, and I’d much prefer spending my free time  (AKA the time when my son is asleep) doing something I love, like spending time with my husband, watching a movie, drawing, painting, listening to music, writing… *Le Sigh* So many hobbies, so little time.

Nevertheless, I plan to start the Capsule Wardrobe Challenge TOMORROW.  I’ll be counting all of my clothes, tallying up the numbers and then breaking down the specifics of what my new and minimized closet will look like…  I know the procrastinator’s catch phrase is “I’ll start tomorrow”, but seriously… I will!  STAY TUNED!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

